Home | About | Contact
Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons
Home About Advocacy Annual Meeting Newsletter Members Council & Committees ACS Links
MCACS Newsletter


Michael T. Jaklitsch, MD, FACS

President Elect
Anne C. Larkin, MD, FACS

Dmitry Nepomnayshy, MD, FACS

Peter T. Masiakos, MD, FACS

Past President
Terry L. Buchmiller, MD, FACS

ACS Board of Governors
Terry L. Buchmiller, MD, FACS
Marc S. Rubin, MD, FACS
Heena P. Santry, MD, FACS
Ali Tavakkoli, MD, FACS

ACS Board of Regents
Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS

ACS Specialty Society Governor
Russell J. Nauta, MD, FACS

David McAneny, MD, FACS

Mitchell H. Bamberger, MD, FACS
Claire T. Cronin, MD, FACS
Robert P. Driscoll, MD, FACS
Alok Gupta, MD, FACS
Kevin P. Moriarty, MD, FACS FAAP
Faina Nakhlis, MD, FACS
Vinod Narra, MD, FACS
Rocco Ricciardi, MD, FACS MPH
Ali Salim, MD, FACS
Heena P. Santry, MD, FACS
John O. Schorge, MD, FACS
Ali Tavakkoli, MD, FACS
Jacqueline J. Wu, MD, FACS

REP ACS Commission on Cancer
Peter S. Hopewood, MD, FACS

Rep. to EMCAB
Peter A. Burke, MD, FACS

Resident Member
Jordan D. Bohnen, MD
Beatrice Dionigi, MD

Chapter Offices
Elizabeth Chouinard, Exec. Director
500 Cummings Center, Suite 4400
Beverly, MA 01915

November, 2016
Secretary's Message
Dmitry Nepomnaysky, MD, FACS
Dmitry Nepomnaysky, MD, FACS

I am delighted to provide a report on the activities of the Massachusetts Chapter of the American College of Surgeons 62nd Annual Meeting, which was held December 5, 2015 at the Westin Copley Place in Boston, chaired by Dr. Vinod Narra. The annual meeting had a final attendance of 156 medical professionals, including 81 residents. I would like to thank Chapter members who sponsored a resident, and senior members who contributed to the resident research prize. I would also like to express my sincere appreciation to the 25 industry partners who contributed to the 2015 meeting with exhibit tables and sponsorships. This meeting would not be possible without your support.

The 2015 Program theme focused on debating some of the most controversial topics in surgical practice. Highlights included:

  • a “Breakfast at the Debates” Symposium featuring discussions on What is the Best Approach When dissecting in the Lowest Part of the Pelvis and Why? moderated by Liliana Bordeianou, MD of Massachusetts General Hospital; Robotic Approach Is the Only Rational Option, No Matter the Cost! presented by Todd D. Francone, MD of Lahey Clinic; Bottoms up TME with TAMIS, TME or TES is the Future – Take NOTE(S)! presented by Justin A. Maykel, MD of the University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center; Is Robotic Surgery for Pancreatic Disease Appropriate? moderated by Richard Swanson, MD of Brigham & Women’s Hospital; Robotic Surgery Will be the Gold Standard for Pancreatic Surgery presented by A. James Moser, MD of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Robotic Pancreatic Surgery – A Useful Tool, But Not for All Cases presented by Thomas E. Clancy, MD of Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

  • A Debate: Appendicitis Treatment moderated by Andrew Doben, MD of Baystate Medical Center with the Pro presented by Robert Driscoll, MD of South Shore Surgical Specialists and the Con by Christopher J. Burns, MD of Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

  • A panel on New Data That Should Change Your Practice with presentations by Alok Kapoor, MD of the University of Massachusetts, Russell Zide, MD of Lahey Hospital and Medical Center and Matthias Stopfkuchen-Evans, MD of Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

  • A panel on the pros and cons of the current Maintenance of Certification System moderated by Jacqueline Wu, MD of Baystate Medical Center with presentations by James Whiting, MD of Maine Medical Center and Henry A. Frissora, MD of Beverly Hospital.

  • “The Trauma Survivor Game: Only the Strongest Survives” moderated by Heena Santry, MD of the University of Massachusetts and George Velmahos, MD of Massachusetts General Hospital

  • The Luncheon Speaker, Andrew L. Warshaw, MD of Massachusetts General Hospital, gave a presentation on Appropriate Care for the Surgical Patient.

Award winners for 2015 were:

Joseph Murray Resident Research Basic Science Paper Winner
Beatrice Dionigi, MD

Resident Essay Competition Clinical Paper Winner
Jordan Bohnen, MD

Clinical Poster of Distinction Award
Francisco Guzman-Pruneda, MD

Basic Science Poster of Distinction Award
Sara Morrison, MD

Dr. Heena Santry, the Program Chair for the 63rd Annual Meeting, has organized an exciting, comprehensive program focusing on issues surrounding surgeon wellness. The meeting will take place on Saturday, December 3, 2016 at the Westin Copley Hotel in Boston. The program will include:

  • Resident Research Paper Competitions in General Surgery and Subspecialties
  • A Safety for Surgeons panel
  • A session on Opioid Therapy for Surgeons in the Midst of a Public Health Crisis
  • The Survivor Game
  • A session on Surgeon Burnout
  • The ever-popular Resident Top Gun Competition during which surgical residents from general surgery residencies throughout Massachusetts and New Hampshire showcase their laparoscopic skills
  • A presentation on the ACS Foundation
  • A Commission on Cancer session, and
  • A Colleague in Trouble: An Interactive Workshop for Practicing Surgeons
We look forward to welcoming Dr. Mark R. Katlic of Sinai Hospital in Baltimore who will be the Luncheon Speaker. Dr. Katlic will give a presentation on When Should Surgeons Stop Operating? The Chapter will present the fourth annual basic science award in memory of Dr. Joseph E. Murray who conducted the world’s first successful organ transplant and received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1990.

Please visit our website at www.mcacs.org for updated information. We welcome your input on any enhancements you would find useful. Finally, if there are issues you would like the Council to address this year, please don’t hesitate to let us know. You can call the Chapter’s administrative offices at 978-927-8330, send an email to admin@macacs.org, or contact any of the Chapter officers. And remember to follow the Chapter @MaChapterACS. We look forward to hearing from you and getting your Tweet!

 Home | About | Contact